There are many different laws and penalties regarding DUIs in Pennsylvania. People may understand that they could be sent to jail, have to pay fines, lose their drivers’ licenses and other penalties. However, which penalties people will face for a particular DUI offense depends on their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and how many DUI convictions they have in their past.
While there are many different penalties that people face if they are convicted of a DUI, one of the longest-lasting consequences can be the suspension of their drivers’ license. The length of the drivers’ license suspension is as follows:
Length of driver’s license suspensions
- If people have a BAC between 0.08 and 0.10%, they will not lose their license for a first-time DUI, but if it is a conviction for a second DUI or more, the driver’s license suspension is 12 months
- If the BAC is between 0.10% and 0.16%, people will lose their license for 12 months for a first- or second-time offense. If people are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI, the suspension is 18 months
- If people have a BAC above 0.16%, the license suspension is 12 months for a first-time offense and it is 18 months for a second or subsequent DUI conviction
There are other criminal penalties that are generally imposed in addition to the license suspension that can have a great effect on people’s lives. However, not having a license for a year or 18 months can create difficulties and having a good defense can be important.
There are many people charged with DUIs in Pennsylvania each year. Being charged with a DUI does not mean that people are necessarily guilty of the crime. There are potential defenses starting with whether the police had a valid reason to stop the vehicle initially. Experienced attorneys understand the potential defenses and may be able to help protect people’s rights.